Find Joy in the ‘Ordinary’

The word ‘ordinary’ has always held a negative connotation. Describing someone as ‘ordinary’ is basically a thinly veiled insult. It conjures the image of something being ‘dull’ ‘simple’ or ‘boring’. I, however, enjoy looking for the beauty in the ordinary things in life, and thus find contentment and happiness in the ordinary life I lead.

Ordinary is defined as something regular, customary or usual. As such, the ordinary is often taken for granted.

A large mug of hot tea in the morning. The cold side of the pillow in the middle of a hot night. The smell of freshly cut grass. These things are ‘nothing special’, yet they put a smile on my face.

Some days I do struggle to see the importance in the small things, but a large part of daily gratitude is to be thankful for the everyday things in my life that keep you happy, safe and well.

It is also important to remember that what is ‘ordinary’ for us (warm bed, hot showers, plenty of food) is also a luxury for many and should never be dismissed.  

This is something I have talked about many times and specifically in my weekly gratitude lists:Thankful Thursday | Gratitude List #1

I don’t claim to be someone who doesn’t strive for more in life, or someone who doesn’t dream of bigger and better things for myself and my family. On the contrary, I spend my days aiming for more and looking for new ways to excite and enhance our situation. However, I am also content and grateful in my current situation.

I live an relatively ‘ordinary’ life. What each person would define as ‘ordinary’ is obviously subjective but I would say my situation is nothing special or extraordinary, but I am safe, I am well and I am happy.

Sometimes, people become to consumed with the prospect of ‘bigger and better’ that they become overwhelmingly unhappy in the current situation and head in a downward spiral trying to achieve something more.

I have personally found it is much healthier to firstly find contentment and acceptance in whatever situation you are currently in. Beyond this you can then strive for more, but you will not be stifled or held back by a fear of failure as you know you will still be OK if your circumstances do not change.

“Rejoicing in ordinary things is not sentimental or trite. It actually takes guts. Each time we drop our complaints and allow everyday good fortune to inspire us, we enter the warrior’s world” – Pema Chödrön

“Joy comes to us in moments- ordinary moments. We risk missing out on joy when we get too busy chasing down the extraordinary.” – Brene Brown

“Go for long walks, indulge in hot baths, watch the sunset, be kind to yourself, live for the moment, loosen up, giggle, smell the roses, count your blessings, just let go, just be” – Unkown


This post was inspired by the WordPress Daily Prompt: Ordinary

If you want to never miss a new post go ahead and follow me on my socials:

Twitter: @miss_els_bells

Instagram: @miss_els_bells

BlogLovin: Ella Louise

5 thoughts on “Find Joy in the ‘Ordinary’

Leave a Reply

