3 Challenges you face when you’re a woman with a ‘Filthy Sense of Humour’

This blog post is inspired by the Daily Prompt: Filthy

woman-with-a-filthy-sense-of-humour

There has always been a stereotype that men have the dirtiest minds – and in all fairness, I don’t think that is wrong. But I do know a few women that could give them a serious run for their money – myself included!

I can’t deny it – I have a dirty mind. It sounds worse than it is of course. Having a dirty mind doesn’t necessarily mean you are always vulgar or crude and it sure as hell doesn’t mean that you only ever think about sex.

BUT I do love an innuendo or double meaning and the first joke that will come to mind in MOST situations will inevitably ‘lower the tone’.

I have learnt over time to let this side of me free only when it is appropriate. I know my audience and only my closest friends really feel the wrath of my filth. Granted they are just as bad!

giphy

However, being so ‘filthy’ does have its disadvantages:

1. Constant snickering at innuendos

I never miss one. And the best are the unintentional ones by the sweet lady at the office.

I am constantly smiling to myself or holding back a snort at the smallest thing. It doesn’t take a lot and is a  massive struggle in a meeting at work.

I can barely contain myself when someone makes me a green tea, and they ask “would you like to keep the tea bag in it” . (If you don’t get that – good for you!).

giphy-1

2. People assume you’re a bit promiscuous or bad-mannered

Unfortunately even in the year 2016 there is still a double standard here. Simply because I make a few lewd jokes and chuckle like a little kid when some says  ‘back door’, doesn’t mean I am up for anything. Far from it!

Some of my friends and I have suffered at the hands of this cruel inequality. We have been approached by male ‘friends’ inappropriately and even been snubbed by other women because of it.

You can say it’s out own fault but that’s crap if you ask me. I’m a nice, polite, and well-mannered person. I just have a dirty mind and like to laugh!

One woman I love for this specific reason is Kate Beckinsale. She is one of the most stunning women on this planet. She holds herself with grace and poise, always looks immaculate and is extremely polite and well spoken. But then check her out in interviews and you will see she has a wicked filthy sense of humour. Queen!

3. You have to filter yourself

Depending on who you are with, or the scenario you are in, you constantly have to filter yourself.

I have spent many a conversation, at a work party or a wedding reception, biting my lip and checking myself before blurting out a filthy remark or snorting at a double meaning someone innocently just said. However, I can honestly nearly EVERYONE I have ever met loves my indecent jokes once they have had a few drinks – which tells me there is a dirty mind lingering in us all!!

However, I can honestly nearly EVERYONE I have ever met loves my indecent jokes once they have had a few drinks – which tells me there is a dirty mind lingering in us all!! You just need wine  to unleash the beast!

giphy-3

But Hey. I am a grown woman and I love my humour. I wouldn’t change the side-splitting giggles I have with my girlfriends when we get together and the constant winks my husband and I give each other at a private joke. All I can do is apologise to the people I may offend along the way! Sorry!

giphy-2

2 thoughts on “3 Challenges you face when you’re a woman with a ‘Filthy Sense of Humour’

    • Ella Louise says:

      Haha Precisely. It get’s me every time! I will always get an odd looks when I blurt out my ‘less than PG’ comments at parties but I don’t care anymore! Girls gotta laugh!! 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

