My Everyday Makeup Essentials

everyday-makeup-essentials

I am not a fan of a daily full made-up face so my everyday makeup routine is very simple. My main concern is to have an even and clear complexion with a little mascara and lippy. Basically, as long as I look awake and fresh faced I’m happy.

12-11-2016-makeup-essentials-numbered

So below are the products I use on a daily basis to achieve my simple everyday look:

FACE
1. Clarins Beauty Flash Balm.

I use this a skin brightener and a primer. On days when I don’t wear any makeup I use this as a moisturiser as it literally enhances my complexion giving me a natural glow. However, I also use it as my everyday primer.

It doesn’t work as well as other primers for ‘staying power’ but it does cover the pores and gives a lovely smooth surface to apply your foundation.

2. Mac Pro Longwear Concealer 

Best concealer I have ever used. I can’t fault it. Not only does it have crazy good coverage (covers all my imperfections) but it blends well and stays on forever.

The shade I currently use is a pretty good match for me, so on days when I don’t want to wear foundation, I will just apply this under my eyes and over any blemishes and then apply a little bronzer and ready to go.

12-11-2016-makeup-essentials-mac-bronzer

3. EX1 Invisiwear Foundation

This foundation is the main reason I decided to do this post. I cannot tell you how many times in the past year I have been complimented on my complexion whilst wearing this. It not only gives me a clear and poreless complexion it is such a great colour match.

I literally ‘stumbled’ upon it a year ago when looking for a foundation that ‘properly’ matched my complexion. I’m not sure what I searched in google but some reviews for EX1 Cosmetics came up that mentioned this brand that was created to fill a gap in the market for Asian/olive skin tones, and considering the reasonable price I thought I would give it a go. I haven’t looked back.

The coverage, as it states, is medium to full and blends so well that many people have commented that I don’t look like I am wearing foundation.

When I first purchased it through Look Fantastic they had only 5 shades. I use both F400 ad F500 depending on the time of year and my tan. I recently had to reorder as was running low and they have a launched a lot of new shades.

Another reason I LOVE this brand is that not only is it £12.50 but you get to use ALL the product. It is in a clear bottle and has a pump that raises as the product is used which means you can see exactly what is left and it till empty. (See Photo).

I have recommended this to numerous friend in the past year and will continue to. It is awesome and has thoroughly improved my makeup routine.

4. Mac Bronzing Powder

I don’t wear this every day but I love a bit of bronzer. This is how I get the nice sun kissed glow and have been known to apply this a little too liberally.

It is light weight and even considering how much I use it, lasts me at least 6 months.

I also use this to set my foundation on a day to day basis (baking is only for special occasions).

5. Sephora Microsmooth Baked Face compact

When I was in Vegas I ventured into Sephora. I was getting nicely tanned and my current foundation wasn’t quite ‘brown’ enough, so I picked up this up Sephora to even me out. It worked a treat. However, since returning my tan has all but disappeared and this shade is now way too dark, at which point I discovered it was the perfect shade to give me a sweet contour.

It is a little heavier than the mac bronzer and you don’t need a lot to get the desired effect, so I will brush a light coating of this under the cheek bones and around the frame of my face. As everyone has time for a little contour!

EYES
6. Mac Upward Lash Mascara

I didn’t get on with this when I first got it. I got ‘hard sold’ in the Mac Store and when I took it home I found I couldn’t achieve the same look she had achieved and it always became clumpy. However, I have learnt that it is all in the way you apply. It is important to move the applicator from side to side when applying to ensure even coverage, but this is one of the only mascaras I have ever used that gives me such a good lift.

Yes –I only wear mascara on my eyes. I can’t be doing eyeshadow and liner every day.

LIPS
7. NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream – London

My bestie introduced me to the MYX lip creams. I was reluctant but she insisted I would love them. She was right. I now have multiple shades but the shade //// is currently my fave for everyday use.

Leave a comment and let me know if you use any of the above products of if you can recommend anything else for me. Also, don’t forget to Follow Me On BlogLovin.

Disclaimer: Some of the links in this post are affiliates. 

 

Leave a Reply

